Shikabane Hime Aka Ep. 1: Death’s Dance

From the promo and images I’ve seen floating around the ‘Net, this looked like a pretty run of the mill action series, but I looked at it anyway.  To me, though, this is like Tokyo Majin Gakuen Kenpouchou in a wide variety of aspects.  There’s the fight sequences, a series of magical / mystical villains that get put down by a set of heroes that really don’t seem like the hero type, etc.  Makina shows a substantially more amount of badassery than those in Tokyo Majin, but as much as I might like a schoolgirl dual-wielding some MAC-10s, I don’t think this is worth my time, as I’m pretty much swamped with a good half dozen other shows.  Pictures after the break.  (No idea why the playtime is showing…stupid MPC.)

Quick Impressions:

I’m really not a fan of Gainax for this one.  The colors are abusively dark, and when there is contrast, it’s so unbelievably washed out it actually hurts to watch.  I know that it all adds to a “dark ambience”, but this is ridiculous.  I also feel nothing for any of the characters.  Makina is obviously the main attraction here, and her duel wielding MAC-10s certainly plays up the “badass” part of her personality.  However, there isn’t much else going for her yet.  I mean, she’s a CORPSE.  The entire premise of this is that she needs to kill a number of other corpses before she can enter heaven.  To me, it all seems a little weak.

If I do end up watching this, it would be out of the archives, when some future season has absolutely nothing worth looking at.  Until then, though, this one’s dead in the water.

Preview:

I have NO idea what this is, and I’m not inclined to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

